Best 30 Day Challenge Apps for Beginners in 2026
We compared 7 apps for running a 30 day challenge on ratings, price, run length and missed-day rules. Each one fits a different kind of run.
Disclosure: LockIn30 is our app. We built this comparison honestly, including areas where competitors have advantages. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store as of September 2026.
Quick answer
No single app wins here. If this is your first 30 day run, the real question is how much structure you want around it. LockIn30 is built for one habit on a fixed run, with a length you pick from 7 to 365 days and a Be Honest flow for the day you miss. Me+ Lifestyle Routine by ENERJOY PTE. LTD. has the largest rating count among the competitors here, 247,900 US ratings, and Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited is the only app on the page that sells a one-time lifetime unlock, at $9.89.
Productive - Habit Tracker by Mosaic S.r.l. has habit chains, guided Programs and a global Challenges feed. Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker by Fabulous sells coaching series and Premium Journeys rather than a tracker you configure yourself. If what you actually want is a workout plan, two apps here share a base name and are easy to mix up: 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. states you must subscribe before you can access the app, while 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited has the highest rating among the competitors here, 4.91 from 28,600 US ratings.
Side-by-side comparison
| Feature | LockIn30 | Me+ Lifestyle Routine | Habit Tracker (Inner Grow Limited) | Productive - Habit Tracker | Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker | 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout (Mosaic S.r.l.) | 30 Day Fitness at Home (Leap Health Fitness Limited) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iOS + Android | iOS + Android, iPhone only on iOS | iOS + Watch, no Google Play listing found | iOS + Android + Watch | iOS + Android + Watch, no iPad | iOS, iPhone and iPad, no Google Play listing found | iOS + Android, iPhone only on iOS |
| US App Store rating | 5.00 (3) | 4.80 (247,928) | 4.79 (146,820) | 4.60 (91,080) | 4.43 (88,960) | 4.28 (58,572) | 4.91 (28,588) |
| Last updated | August 2026 | June 2026 | August 2026 | March 2026 | August 2026 | March 2026 | September 2026 |
| Free-tier limits | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Habits capped, the listing does not say how many | Not stated, unlimited habits sit under the upgrade | A subscription is required before you can access the app | Not stated |
| Paid plans | Pro, $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year | $7.99 to $12.99 a month, $19.99 to $29.99 for three months, $39.99 to $69.99 a year | Lifetime $9.89, Lifetime Family $12.99, yearly $7.99, monthly $2.99 | Premium at $19.99, $39.99, $59.99 and $79.99 a year, $10.99 a month, $5.99 weekly bundle | Ten entries, $16.99 to $59.99 per item on the App Store | Weekly only, entries from $0.99 to $4.99 | Ten entries, $4.99 to $69.99, description names $69.99 a year |
| Log a habit each day | Yes, six input types | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes, a guided workout | Yes, a guided workout |
| Fixed-length challenge | Yes | Not stated, an open-ended routine planner | Not stated | Yes, Programs and Challenges, no length given | Yes, paid Journeys and Live challenges, no length given | Yes, 30-day plans | Yes, a tailored 30-day program |
| Pick your own run length | Yes, 7 to 365 days, 30 by default | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated, the listing names 30 days | Not stated, the listing names 30 days |
| Missed-day handling | Yes, Be Honest dialog, one auto-fill rescue per device, restart with an attempt counter | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Streaks | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, habit chains and perfect days | Yes, per a November 2024 release note | Not stated | Not stated |
| Progress photos | Yes, gallery by day, side-by-side compare | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Timelapse video | Yes, 1080x1920 at 4 FPS | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Statistics | Yes, completion rate, best streak, charts | Partial, a mood and progress tracker | Yes, plus weekly, monthly and yearly reports | Yes, per-habit stats and trends are Premium | Yes, a goal tracker | Workout history only | Yes, a daily progress tracker |
| Reminders | Yes, per habit with quiet days | Yes | Yes, time or location based | Yes, improved per-habit and location reminders are Premium | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated on iOS, stated on its Play listing |
| Multiple habits or plans | The listing positions it as one habit at a time | Yes, count not stated | Yes, count not stated | Yes, unlimited on Premium | Yes, unlimited habits under the upgrade | Not stated | Not stated |
| Export | No data export, the video and milestone cards save or share | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Apple Health export only | Not stated |
| Languages | 1 | 5 | 11 | 19 | 7 | 13 | 31 |
| Ads | No | Yes on iOS per its age rating, its Play listing says no ads | No Contains Advertising annotation on its listing, some reviewers describe ads on the free edition | No ads, per its listing | No | Yes | Yes |
| Account required | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated, though access requires an auto-renewable purchase | Not stated |
| Data stays on device | Yes, with no account | No such claim on its listing | Local, with optional cloud backup | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated |
| Privacy label | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers | Data Used to Track You: Identifiers (Device ID) | Diagnostics for analytics, not linked to you, and no Data Used to Track You section | Data Used to Track You: Purchases, Contact Info, Identifiers | Data Used to Track You: Contact Info (Email Address) | Data Used to Track You: Purchases, Identifiers, Usage Data, Other Data | Data Used to Track You: Usage Data |
The apps
1. LockIn30
LockIn30 Our Pick
LockIn30 runs one habit at a time. You pick a habit from a 36-task library across 12 categories or write your own, set any duration from 7 to 365 days with 30 as the default, choose tough mode or soft mode, and log the day with one of six input types: checkbox, counter, duration, photo, text or measurement. Miss a day in tough mode and a Be Honest dialog steps in, with one auto-fill rescue per device and a restart that bumps an attempt counter. Photos stack into a 1080x1920 timelapse at 4 FPS. The statistics screen shows completion rate, best streak and days done.
The app is free to download and its listing shows two Pro prices, $2.99 a week and $29.99 a year, after a 7-day trial. The listing does not spell out what Pro unlocks. The description runs through the task library, the input types, the photo gallery, the timelapse, the statistics, the 30 themes and the reminders in one list with no tier marker, so we are not going to guess at the split here. Every challenge, photo and log stays on the device, no account is required, and the app works offline. Its privacy label, in the store’s own words, declares Data Used to Track You: Identifiers. It was released in May 2026 and updated in August 2026.
Pros
- Any run length from 7 to 365 days, 30 by default
- A stated rule for a missed day: Be Honest, one auto-fill rescue per device, or a restart that counts attempts
- Progress photos stack into a 1080x1920 timelapse at 4 FPS
- Works offline, keeps challenges, photos and logs on the device, no account
Cons
- Three US ratings so far, since it was released in May 2026
- The listing does not say which features need Pro
- Its store page lists one language, English
Pricing: Free to download. Pro is $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year, after a 7-day trial.
Best for: One habit, a run length you choose, and a rule for the day you miss.
2. Me+ Lifestyle Routine by ENERJOY PTE. LTD.
Me+ Lifestyle Routine
Me+ Lifestyle Routine by ENERJOY PTE. LTD. has been on the App Store since 2022 and is rated 4.80 from 247,900 US ratings, the largest rating count among the competitors here, with over ten million Android installs. Its listing describes an open-ended planner: daily and morning routines you build, a mood and progress tracker, reminders, an MBTI test that suggests a routine, planning templates, and what it calls evidence-based self-care reading. Nowhere does it state a fixed-length challenge, a duration picker or a rule for a missed day. The app runs on iPhone and Android, with no iPad app, lists 5 languages, and was updated in June 2026.
Free to download. The description names a subscription at $39.99 a year and $9.99 a month for unlimited access to the VIP features, and never says what those features are. The in-app purchase list has ten entries, including annuals at $39.99, $59.99 and $69.99, two promotional entries named only Special Offer and Limited Time Discount, and one still named AlarmMe VIP (Yearly); its bundle id and that purchase name both carry an alarm-app name. Reviewers say the free tier caps how many routine items you can keep. Some reviewers describe being charged after canceling a trial. Its age rating declares Contains Advertising on iOS while its Play listing reports no ads.
Pros
- 4.80 from 247,900 US ratings, and over ten million Android installs per its Play listing
- Reviewers credit it with getting them through a morning routine
- Mood tracking, reminders and planning templates in one app
- An MBTI test that suggests a routine for you
Cons
- No fixed-length challenge, duration picker or missed-day rule on the listing
- Reviewers say the free tier caps routine items
- Its iOS age rating declares Contains Advertising, and some reviewers describe being charged after canceling
Pricing: Free to download. Me+ Lifestyle Routine subscriptions run $7.99 to $12.99 a month, $19.99 to $29.99 for three months, and $39.99 to $69.99 a year. The listing does not say which annual entry is the standard price.
Best for: An open-ended morning routine rather than a challenge with an end date.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs Me+ Lifestyle Routine
3. Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited
Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited Best Value
Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited is the deepest plain habit tracker here. On the App Store since 2019, rated 4.79 from 146,800 US ratings, updated in August 2026. Its listing is a long one: unit-based goals rather than checkmarks only, detailed analytics, weekly, monthly and yearly reports, time and location reminders with custom sounds, Apple Health sync for water, steps, sleep, exercise and calories, an HRV stress monitor, mood tracking, per-habit notes, a focus timer, group habits with friends, Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, Face ID lock, dark mode and an Apple Watch app. It lists 11 languages. No Google Play listing was found for Inner Grow Limited.
It takes the Best Value badge for one reason: it is the only app on the page that sells a one-time unlock, Lifetime Member at $9.89, with Lifetime Family at $12.99, against subscriptions everywhere else here. The yearly plan is $7.99, which the listing prices below three months of the $2.99 monthly plan. Odd, but that is what the store shows. What Premium adds is not spelled out on the store page, and two entries, Habit Promo at $7.99 and Enhance Yourself at $5.99, are not explained at all. Reviewers report a free ceiling of about six habits, though a few name other figures, and reviewers repeatedly name the one-time purchase as their reason for choosing it. Its privacy label declares Diagnostics collected for analytics and not linked to you, with no Data Used to Track You section. On the challenge side it is bare: no fixed length, no duration picker, no missed-day rule, and the word streak never appears in its description.
Pros
- A one-time Lifetime Member unlock at $9.89, no subscription needed
- 4.79 from 146,800 US ratings, updated in August 2026
- Apple Watch app, widgets you can log from, Apple Health sync and an HRV stress monitor
- Its privacy label carries no Data Used to Track You section
Cons
- No fixed-length challenge, run length or missed-day rule on the listing
- The listing never says what Premium includes
- Reviewers report progress lost after an update or a device change, and say iCloud sync does not carry habits reliably between devices
Pricing: Free to download. Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited lists Lifetime Member at $9.89, Lifetime Family at $12.99, Habit Premium Yearly at $7.99, Monthly Premium at $2.99, plus Habit Promo at $7.99 and Enhance Yourself at $5.99.
Best for: A deep daily tracker you pay for once.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited
4. Productive - Habit Tracker by Mosaic S.r.l.
Productive - Habit Tracker
Productive - Habit Tracker by Mosaic S.r.l. has been on the App Store since 2015 and is rated 4.60 from 91,100 US ratings. Its listing describes chains of completed habits and perfect days, smart reminders, statistics, habit naming with icons and colors, ADHD assistance, Programs that give you daily tips and reflection check-ins, and Challenges where you compete with other users worldwide. It runs on iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android, its store page lists 19 languages, the most of the habit trackers here, and it was updated in March 2026. So Programs and Challenges exist, but no challenge length, no end date and no missed-day rule appear anywhere in the description.
Free to download, and the free tier is where the friction is. The description puts unlimited habits, endless motivation with various challenges, full-text articles, improved per-habit reminders, location reminders, per-habit statistics and week-by-week trends under Premium. It does not say how many habits the free tier allows; reviewers say five. Premium is listed at four different annual prices, $19.99, $39.99, $59.99 and $79.99, plus $10.99 a month, a $5.99 Weekly Bundle Premium with FT, and a $3.99 Upgrade Productive with no explanation on the listing. There are no ads, per its listing, though the same listing’s privacy label declares Third-Party Advertising: Usage Data. Recent reviews keep calling Premium too expensive, describe a Premium screen on almost every launch, and report progress lost on a new phone. The listing does not mention sync.
Pros
- 4.60 from 91,100 US ratings, on the App Store since 2015
- 19 languages, the most of the habit trackers here
- iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android
- Guided Programs and a global Challenges feed
Cons
- Free habits are capped and the listing does not say how many
- Four different annual prices are listed under one name, so the real price is unclear
- Cross-device sync is not stated, and recent reviews report progress lost on a new phone
Pricing: Free to download. Productive - Habit Tracker by Mosaic S.r.l. lists Premium at $19.99, $39.99, $59.99 and $79.99 a year, $10.99 a month, and $5.99 for a Weekly Bundle Premium with FT, plus a $3.99 Upgrade Productive. No ads, per its listing.
Best for: Habit chains, guided Programs and competing with other people.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs Productive - Habit Tracker
5. Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker by Fabulous
Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker
Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker by Fabulous is a coaching app with a habit tracker’s name. On the App Store since 2017, rated 4.43 from 89,000 US ratings, updated in August 2026. Its listing sells morning and evening routines, journaling and a gratitude journal, meditation sessions, daily affirmations, breathing exercises, short workouts, a deep-work focus mode, a goal tracker and community Live challenges. Coaching series by topic, unlimited habits, Premium Journeys and one-on-one coaching all sit under the upgrade. It runs on iPhone, Apple Watch and Android, with no iPad app, and lists 7 languages.
The word free never appears in its description, and no trial length appears in any store source, so what the free side includes is not documented. Pricing on the App Store is a wall: six entries all named Fabulous Premium at $16.99, $19.99, $29.99, $35.99, $39.99 and $59.99, with no billing period attached to any of them, plus Premium Quarterly at $39.99, a Fabulous Annual Subscription at $49.99, a Fabulous Premium Offer at $49.99, and a Sphere: Annually 50% Off at $59.99, which is a separate product sold inside this app. Google Play lists in-app purchases from $3.99 to $299.99 per item. The 4.43 rating is the store’s lifetime figure; among recent reviews, reviewers call the billing a scam or predatory, describe being charged after canceling, say canceling is hard, and call the interface cluttered. Reviewers in that same sample also credit it with building better habits.
Pros
- 4.43 from 89,000 US ratings, on the App Store since 2017
- Coaching series, Premium Journeys, meditation and affirmations in one app
- Apple Watch app, a Motivation Widget, Dynamic Island and Picture-in-Picture support
- Recent reviewers credit it with building better habits
Cons
- Ten in-app entries under five names, six of them identically named Fabulous Premium with no billing period, so no single price is readable
- Recent reviews are dominated by billing and cancellation complaints
- No challenge length, missed-day rule or trial length on the listing
Pricing: Free to download. Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker lists App Store in-app purchases from $16.99 to $59.99 per item, with no billing period on the six Fabulous Premium entries, and Google Play shows $3.99 to $299.99 per item. The listing states no trial length.
Best for: Guided coaching content, if you are comfortable with the billing terms.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker
6. 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l.
30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l.
30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. is a workout app, not a habit tracker, and it is a different app from 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited further down. Its listing describes 30 days of bodyweight routines, with warm-ups, planks, squats and abs, video instruction for every routine plus HD video tutorials for its newer workouts and plans, hundreds of selected exercises, the goals it names such as toned arms and a flat tummy, and two-way Apple Health sync that exports exercise data and imports body measurements. It is rated 4.28 from 58,600 US ratings, runs on iPhone and iPad, lists 13 languages, and was updated in March 2026. No Google Play listing was found for 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout.
The line that matters is in its own description: you will be required to sign up for an auto-renewable in-app purchase before you are able to access the app. The store still shows the app as Free beside that sentence. Subscription length is stated as weekly and nothing longer appears anywhere on the listing; the in-app entries run $0.99 to $4.99, with Workout and Fitness Plans listed twice, at $2.99 and $0.99. At the listed $4.99 a week, a year works out to roughly $259. That is our arithmetic on the weekly price, not a plan the store lists. Its age rating declares Contains Advertising. Reviews from 2021 and 2022 are full of cancellation and billing complaints, some reviewers mention the same in 2024 and 2025, and the complaint that you have to pay before you can use the app runs to August 2026. On the other side, reviewers say it kept them moving day to day, and report visible results, mostly weight loss and toning.
Pros
- A real 30-day bodyweight plan with video instruction for every routine
- Two-way Apple Health sync for exercise data and body measurements
- Reviewers credit it with keeping them going day to day, and report visible results
- iPhone and iPad, 13 languages
Cons
- Its own listing says you must subscribe before you can access the app
- Weekly billing is the only period stated, with no annual or lifetime entry
- Its age rating declares Contains Advertising, and no streaks, progress photos or missed-day handling are stated
Pricing: Free to download, but 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. states that access requires an auto-renewable purchase. Subscription length is weekly, with entries from $0.99 to $4.99.
Best for: Guided home workouts on a 30-day plan, if weekly billing suits you.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout
7. 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited
30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited Top Rated
30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited takes the Top Rated badge on the two-decimal figure: 4.91 from 28,600 US ratings, the highest average among the competitors here with at least 1,000 ratings. It is a different app from 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. above. The app tailors a 30-day program from your body data and preferences, with 300 or more zero-equipment workouts across aerobics, HIIT and strength training, video instruction, an AI Trainer you can ask about workouts, rest and diet, Apple Health sync for steps and calories, Live Activities on the Lock Screen and Dynamic Island (added in 2.34.0, September 2025), and headphone heart rate on AirPods Pro 3 and Beats (added in 2.37.0, December 2025). Its store page lists 31 languages, the most on the page, and it was updated in September 2026, the most recent update here. Its Android build is confirmed at com.popularapp.thirtydayfitnesschallenge with over ten million Android installs, though it ships under a different name with a different feature list, so do not assume the iOS features carry across.
Free to download, and which individual features are gated is not spelled out on the store page. The description names one price, $69.99 a year for unlimited access to all features, while the in-app list shows ten entries from $4.99 to $69.99, including two both named Premium Yearly at $59.99 and $34.99, an Intro Annual Premium at $39.99 and an entry named Black Friday_Year at $29.99. The clearest signal of how the free edition works is that removing the ads is a separate $4.99 purchase; its age rating declares Contains Advertising and its Play listing reports ads too. Recent reviewers say the plan paywalls a few days in, describe being charged during or instead of a trial, say canceling is hard, and describe intrusive ads on the free edition. Reviewers also say the daily reminders keep them coming back, and report weight loss or visible results.
Pros
- 4.91 from 28,600 US ratings, the highest average among the competitors here
- A tailored 30-day program with 300 or more zero-equipment workouts and video instruction
- 31 languages, plus over ten million Android installs on its confirmed Play listing
- Updated in September 2026, the most recent update on the page
Cons
- Ads on the free edition, with removal sold separately at $4.99
- Reviewers say the plan stops a few days in until you subscribe
- Ten in-app entries including two identically named annuals at different prices, so the real price is unclear
Pricing: Free to download. 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited lists ten in-app entries from $4.99 to $69.99, and its description names $69.99 a year for full access. Removing the ads is a separate $4.99 purchase.
Best for: A guided 30-day workout program, in one of 31 languages.
Read the full comparison: LockIn30 vs 30 Day Fitness at Home
Which one should you pick?
Pick LockIn30 if you want one habit, a run length you set between 7 and 365 days, a stated rule for the day you miss, and a timelapse at the finish line, all stored on your device with no account.
Pick Me+ Lifestyle Routine if you want an open-ended morning routine with mood tracking, and the largest rating count here matters more to you than a fixed end date.
Pick Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited if you want a deep daily tracker with an Apple Watch app and you would rather pay $9.89 once than subscribe.
Pick Productive - Habit Tracker if you want habit chains, guided Programs, a global Challenges feed, and your language is one of its 19.
Pick Fabulous: Daily Habit Tracker if you want coaching series, Journeys and meditation content, and you have read its billing terms first.
Pick 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. if you want 30 days of guided bodyweight workouts on iPhone or iPad and weekly billing is fine.
Pick 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited if you want a tailored 30-day workout program in your own language and you will pay to remove the ads.
Before you commit to an app, it costs nothing to sketch the run. Our free 30 day habit challenge tracker lays out the day grid, and the 30 day challenge end date calculator tells you the date you finish. Both run in the browser with no download.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best app to run a 30 day challenge?
It depends on what you need. LockIn30 is the only app here whose listing lets you set a run length from 7 to 365 days and describes what happens when you miss a day. Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited sells a one-time lifetime unlock at $9.89 instead of a subscription. Me+ Lifestyle Routine carries the largest rating count on the page, 247,900 US ratings. If you want a guided workout plan rather than a habit, 30 Day Fitness at Home by Leap Health Fitness Limited is rated 4.91 from 28,600 US ratings.
Which 30 day challenge apps are actually free?
All seven are free to download, and not one of the seven listings spells out a complete free tier. 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout by Mosaic S.r.l. is the clearest case: its own description says you will be required to sign up for an auto-renewable in-app purchase before you are able to access the app. Productive - Habit Tracker puts unlimited habits behind Premium without saying how many the free tier allows. LockIn30 is free to download with Pro at $2.99 a week or $29.99 a year, and its listing does not say which features need Pro either.
Which of these apps handle a missed day?
Only LockIn30 states a rule. Its listing describes a Be Honest dialog when you miss a day in tough mode, one auto-fill rescue per device, and a restart that bumps an attempt counter, alongside a soft mode with no penalty. For the other six apps, missed-day handling is not stated on the store listing.
30 Day Fitness - Home Workout or 30 Day Fitness at Home: which is which?
They are two different apps that share a base name. 30 Day Fitness - Home Workout is published by Mosaic S.r.l., rated 4.28 from 58,600 US ratings, runs on iPhone and iPad, and states weekly billing only. 30 Day Fitness at Home is published by Leap Health Fitness Limited, rated 4.91 from 28,600 US ratings, runs on iPhone and Android, and its description names $69.99 a year. Neither of them is LockIn30.
Do I need an account for any of these apps?
LockIn30's listing says no account is required and that every challenge, photo and log stays on your device. The other six listings do not state whether an account is required. Habit Tracker by Inner Grow Limited describes cloud sync and backup without saying what it signs in to, and Productive - Habit Tracker mentions account settings only for managing a subscription.